Home Page
Check our newsletters for the latest information on school life and learning.


Welcome to our Governance section.

As the Albert Pye and Ravensmere are academies which are part of the Active Learning Trust, legal responsibility for the schools lies with the Active Learning Trust. It is governed by the Directors, who rely on advice and support from the Local Governing Board (LGB). The Directors are the charity trustees and responsible for the general control and management of the administration of the Company in accordance with the provisions set out in the Articles of Association of the Company. Further information regarding this can be found on the ALT website

The Local Governing Board

As our two schools are part of a hard federation, there is only one Local Governing Board that is responsible for both schools.


Membership of the Governing Board is as follows:

Phil Tate (Chair, Trust Governor)                        

Joanne Viner (Executive Headteacher)

David Baker (Trust Governor)

Katie Rattenbury (Vice Chair, Trust Governor)

Andrea Hall (Trust Governor)

Christine Gasson (Trust Governor)

Vacancy (Parent Governor - Albert Pye)

Emily Fenning (Parent Governor - Ravensmere)


Rebecca Witt (Governance Professional supporting the LGB)


Parent governors are elected by the parents (unless the number of applicants is equal to or fewer than the number of vacancies).


Trust governors are recommended by the school and appointed by the Chief Executive of the Active Learning Trust. 


The Local Governing Board meets six times each year; once per half term. 


Link Governors

Each governor also has a specific individual responsibility as follows:

Health and Safety – David Baker

Relationships, Sex and Health Education (RSHE) - Katie Rattenbury

Safeguarding – Christine Gasson

Safer Employment Champion - Christine Gasson

SEND – David Baker

Wellbeing Champion - Katie Rattenbury

Contact the Governors

Governors actively seek parents’ views throughout the year through parent questionnaires. In addition to this, any parent can consult the Governors, or put forward ideas for consideration at any time. Please contact us via the school office.